Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Cards and Score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Cards and Score

I'm a newbie to the board, so please forgive me if my questions are redundant. I have recently been approved for DiscoverMore(CL 5.5k), Visa Platinum(10k) and Mastercard World(7k). These are my first major credit cards with large CLs. Will this improve my score or will it stay the same? I started working on my credit with a score of (2008) 509 and apparently according to the last pull by USAA I was at 688. My only major credit card prior to now was a Orchard MC with CL of 300 as I got it when my credit score was 550. I'm hoping I receive some kind of bump with these new cards. Any knowledge in this area is most appreciated. Thank you......awesome site!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
jamie123
Valued Contributor

Re: New Cards and Score

It really depends....

Your scores will not just go up because of higher credit lines. If you do however have a high balance percentage on your existing credit cards it will reduce your utilization percentage which will raise your scores.

Don't forget that you will get a small hit to your scores for the hard credit pulls for the new cards. This will disappear after 1 year.

You do need to have a minimum of 3 credit cards to maximize your scores so the new cards will definitely help with that.

So....To answer your question more succinctly. Might not do much to your scores short term but in a year you will be golden!

Congrats on the new cards and welcome to the forum!

Starting Score: EQ 653 6/21/12
Current Score: EQ 817 3/10/20 - EX 820 3/13/20 - TU 825 3/03/20
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you! Probably shouldn't have but, applied for another card awaiting answer from the forum. Was approved for citi diamond preferred 2k cl. Looking to get in mid 7s soon as I need to refi the mortgage.Thanks for your knowledgeble answer!!!

Message 3 of 14
bettercreditguy1
Established Contributor