Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Credit Opened: 10% of FICO

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Credit Opened: 10% of FICO

Hi, all, I'm relatively new to having a credit score, haven't even had a FICO for a year yet. 

Anyway, I was wondering if opening new credit positively or negatively impacts your FICO score. Over the Past month I've applied for and been approved for 4 new credit cards, adding a total of $6,900 credit line across all the cards to what was only a limit of $1,000 on one card.

I don't plan on adding any more in the forseeable future, I just figured even though it's bad to apply to multiple cards simultaneously, there were no hard pulls so I might as well take advantage of my score if adding a card or two would lower it initially. I'm also familiar with the standard of having one card report a balance of less than 10% of the credit line while having a $0 balance on all other cards by the statement reporting date.

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks much, Ryan

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New Credit Opened: 10% of FICO

"FICO's scoring model treats new accounts as a negative for your FICO score. 

How negative? It depends on the length and breadth of your credit history. However, the scoring impact of opening one new account should be the same for any type of loan, whether it's a car loan, a credit card or something else."

I found this here.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am in a similar situation, my oldest US card is 8 months, and I opened 6 cards in that time. I figured that in reality I'm getting hammered for the full 10% new credit penalty no matter what I do, so I might as well go on a spree.