cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to America, Exceeded Credit Limit & Trying to Build Credit Score to Buy a House... (HELP!)

tag
lifeafterdeath

New to America, Exceeded Credit Limit & Trying to Build Credit Score to Buy a House... (HELP!)

Hi There

I am relatively new to America and am trying to build Credit to obtain a mortgage.

I have 4 open lines, the oldest being 1.8years, the shortest 4 Months and the average being 9 months (of all 4 cards)

Before becoming serious about buying a house I had the cards near Max. (But I have never had a late payment).

One card went over the limit and it showed on my statement, it exceeded limit by $54 (this was February 2013)

Since becoming dead serious about buying house, I have paid all 3 cards down and am using less than 10% debt on them. The last card I am working on paying down i now have less than 50% debt on it. I should have it down to under 10% in the next month. I continue to make small purchases on them to keep them revolving.

Questions:

(1) Having exceeded the balance on 1 card in Feb., will this show up on a Credit Report come July / Aug when i apply for a mortgage? Will this be a black mark against me?

(2) Do i need to keep balances of Cards at less than 10% or is the "Magic" number less than 25%?

(3) Since i am new to America (less than 3 years - if that's new?!) - Do i get some sort of leeway since i don't have long credit history.

(4) My 4 cards limits are: $1000 Care Credit, $1000 Bank Credit Card, $4000 Capital One, $500 Home Depot. Total of $6500 with an average of $1625 ($6500 / 4). - Is it true you want to get your average above $2000? Will this help increase my Credit Score? - (this is what MyFree Credit Report tells me, unsure about this site...)

(5) If i buy furniture from a store (Looking at new bed) - Will this help my Credit Score increase?

Any replies much appreciated.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
john398
Senior Contributor