cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to credit cards. 1 card and balance to raise FICO question.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to credit cards. 1 card and balance to raise FICO question.

I'm new to credit cards and only have one at this moment.  I'm looking to apply for a mortgage loan in Jan 2016 and would love to raise my FICOs for better interest rates.

I've read around on the forums and found a little of what I'm looking for.  From my gathering my single credit card needs to be used.  A 1-9% balance is ideal (I read that 2% is the best).  Again, I'm totaly new to credit cards.  If I use 1-9% of my card, do I just pay the minimum bill until after I get that mortgage loan... or do I have to pay off my card each month then use my card again each month? 

Tags (1)
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New to credit cards. 1 card and balance to raise FICO question.

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm new to credit cards and only have one at this moment.  I'm looking to apply for a mortgage loan in Jan 2016 and would love to raise my FICOs for better interest rates.

I've read around on the forums and found a little of what I'm looking for.  From my gathering my single credit card needs to be used.  A 1-9% balance is ideal (I read that 2% is the best).  Again, I'm totaly new to credit cards.  If I use 1-9% of my card, do I just pay the minimum bill until after I get that mortgage loan... or do I have to pay off my card each month then use my card again each month? 

All you need to do is let the statement cut with the balance % you want. Pay it in full if you don't want to pay interest. And repeat the next month.

One question I have is why is there such a large difference between your scores? Are they a combination of FICO and FAKO? I'm not sure raising your utlization will give you much of a boost and it may even lower it. Especially since you say you only have 1 card.

Message 2 of 10
takeshi74
Senior Contributor