Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to the game , I appreciate your input

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to the game , I appreciate your input

Good Morning, 

I am new to the myFico world and come from Identity guard. My wife and I just relocated to a new city and this has allowed me to be in a better financial position. That being said I have a small surplus that can eliminate all of our cc debt in one hit. After looking at the forum there are several different opinions of debt and utilization ratios. My questions is if my wife and I's overall credit debt is 15k what percentage of the debt should be let ride on the cards to reap the best rewards via the score increase? How much should I charge on them monthly etc....?

I appreciate everyone's input and hope to see you guys at the top, 800 club here we come. 

God Bless,

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

Re: New to the game , I appreciate your input

If you have the cash, don't let any of it "ride." Pay it down in full so there won't be interest.

However, for scoring purposes, it's best to let a small balance report on one card. This needs to be a new charge that hasn't previously been "due." Pay that right after it shows up on the statement. Make sure that your new balance is at least $5. Sometimes, card companies will forgive small balances and report zero.

Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Good Morning,