Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie with FICO scoring questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Newbie with FICO scoring questions

First, a disclaimer,  I am a newbie to this forum.   While I have read credit scoring 101 and many, many of the posts, I might have missed something that could answer my specific questions.     If so, I apologies and ask that you point me in the right direction.  I also tried using the FICO simulator, but it is too general a tool to help with the specific scenarios I am looking at.

Situation:   Reviewing FICO scores in preparation of some major Real Estate changes next year.  Trying to make sure everything was good.   While scores are good (760-770), it would appear that the 760 is right on the cusp of the next tier down and I would like to see what I can to to add a bit of cushion to the numbers as I will have to apply for new HM and HELOC loans next year.

Overall, have 12 open accounts, 5 (1 HM and 4 CC) that show a balance.   All are current and all PIF each month.   Only blemish on the CC history is 1 30 day LP 5.5 years ago.   All three CRA show payment history, new credit inquiries, and overall credit history VG to great.

Questions

1)  Is 760 the floor of the excellent rates (as many posts might indicate)?    If so, than is working to go higher of any benefit (other than to provide a cushion)?    Do many institutions offer even lower rates for 800+ scores?  

2)  TU reporting too many cards with balances.  1 card has 98% of transactions and does run a 5 figure balance.  The other 3 cards have low hundreds per month and are used to segregate charges (one for home business, one for on-line purchases (etc).      Again, all are PIF each month

• Is this convenience costing me points?   Should I consolidate (not close) purchases down to 2-3 cards and just charge more per card?