Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying Down Debt-dropped credit score dramatically

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Paying Down Debt-dropped credit score dramatically

Hi, this is my first time posting and I apologize if the question is stupid or has already been asked.  I actually have tweo questions if you don't mind.

1)  I am trying to prepare to purchase a home so I was in the process of paying off the majority of my high interest credit cards to reduce my DTI.  My score dropped by 50 points, any idea why?

2)  Also, I have one credit card that I was late on by two days, they reported it to all the agencies as 30 days which dropped my score even more.  How can I dispute this at all?  I am right in the process of applying for a mortgage and now that can't happen.

Scores: Transunion was 749 now 708, Experian was 725 now 689 Equifax was 725 now 696.

Please Help!  Thank you!

Message 1 of 58
57 REPLIES 57
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Paying Down Debt-dropped credit score dramatically

Impossible to help you without knowing how much your balances were before paying and how much they were after.  So list those, account by account.

The 30D late is only marked as 30D late if you missed two due dates.  If you missed ONE due date, they can't legally report you as 30D late.  30D late means you missed a due date and then still didn't make that payment for 30 days.

On that account, list the dates of your last 3 payments.

Message 2 of 58
K-in-Boston
Credit Mentor

Hi TryingForTheDream.  Welcome to the forums!