Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on Equifax score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question on Equifax score

At the beginning of this situation I was sitting at 718 with Equifax but for the last two billing cycles my score has dropped when Capitalone reports I have a balance of $20.00 on the card despite the fact that I pay it off before the due date. It is a Secured Card with a $200 limit and I have been paying it off in full for the last 4 months (new and ONLY CC) I possess. This 1st time it was a $19.00 balance that dropped me from 718 to 711, then a $20.63 Balance dropped me from 711 to 706. I don't understand how this could be considering that they are showing that I pay the entire balance every time and have never been late. Your thoughts and suggestions would be most appreciated. Cheers!

Dan

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
gijoe4500
Regular Contributor

Re: Question on Equifax score

Try paying it off a couple days before the statement date.  Cap1 reports your statement balance to the credit bureaus.

Starting Score: MyFico TU: 621 EQ: 610
Current Score: Discover TU: 829 Discover EX: 827
Goal Score: 700's baby! (made it 4/10/2013!)
New Goal: 830!!
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ok, it looks like my statement date is the 22nd of each month but what good does it do for my credut score in general if all Capial One ever shows is a $0 Balance on the card? I thought the point was to show consistant, responsible usage reflecting my DESIRE to use credit without a NEED for credit..... Thoughts?

Message 3 of 5
kjm79
Valued Contributor

@gijoe4500 wrote:

Try paying it off a couple days before the statement date.  Cap1 reports your statement balance to the credit bureaus.