Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Raising CL and lowering CC rates

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Raising CL and lowering CC rates

OK...newbie here -- finally decided to get serious about understanding my credit...and need some advice -- I have a few minor delinquent items from valid disputes that I failed to resolve and let get posted on my credit report -- but worst items is a number of 30 day late pays -- have traveled extensively and moved several times so was less disciplined than should have been in getting bills paid -- not a lack of fund problems -- just not very smart. Finally -- while I have extensive revolving credit and usually pay it off every month or two -- they still report high balances -- (tend to try to rack up as many frequent flyer points as possible so was using those cards extensively but paying them off). Anyway -- this has resulted in a very marginal score which I want to raise and as well has some of the cards jacking their rate up to usury levels --32%. Based on what I read in the FICO 101 -- I am working on clearly up the disputed amounts -- but need some help to see if I can clean up some of the late pays that are hurting me. I have read that you can sometimes get current vendors to remove these old marks once you make 12 months of on-time-payment, etc. I understand that they will also raise existing CL to help the revolving margin. My question is how will this affect my FICO. I get loads of new adds every day offering new CC but know a little that new apps are a negative to your FICO ...so open to any advice you have about getting back on track and boosting FICO quick. Thanks.
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: Raising CL and lowering CC rates