Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding Optimal Credit Utilization

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Rebuilding Optimal Credit Utilization

I'm sure this has been discussed before but im having a hard time finding the exact answer I'm looking for. 

I've currently just begun the rebuilding process, had some derogs back in college than i'm taking care of and are starting to fall off now. Credit scores are all in the mid-high 500s. I just recently got a capital one secured card at $200 and a Victorias secret cared at $350 through the SCT this month. 

My question is what is the best way to optimize usage of these cards? I want to grow my credit as fast as i can, I understand that ~7% is about where i want to keep my total utilization. Is it better to keep 7% on both cards every month? Or can i just charge the $38.50 (total 7%) on my secured Cap1 card and not use the VS card? Or some other way im not thinking about?

Again, im new at this and any help is appreciated. Sorry if its been answered 100000 times Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Rebuilding Optimal Credit Utilization

AZEO method.  Type AZEO in searchbar.

You want at least 3 total credit cards open and reporting positively for maximum "free" FICO boost.

How much you use the cards doesn't matter -- what matters is how much REPORTS to your credit reports.  Most credit cards report on statement date, but some may report on the 1st of the month.

AZEO means "All Zero Except One" -- all your cards should report $0 except for one which should report more than $0 and less than 8.9%.  After letting ONE card report a balance, pay it off immediately so you're not charged interest.

Message 2 of 22
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

When you have only two cards, let one report the positive balance that ABCD mentions while the other reports zero.

Message 3 of 22
Anonymous
Not applicable

ok great, thanks for the info!