cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Repairing Recent Bad Report

tag
CUProf

Repairing Recent Bad Report

I love all the great info on this forum.  After reading for a few days, I thought it best to just ask my question.

My situation.  I had a 760 FICO (+or- with all three CRAs) for over a year now.  Worked hard to get all college student mistakes off my credit reports, and in 2011 I had no negatives on my CRs.  I had very high balances on my 2 (BOA - 3900 out of 4000 and AmEx - 4500 out of 5000) cards and after talking with the credit union they offered me an installment loan to consolidate that debt at a much lower rate and payroll deduct (I'm a teacher and they were offering a special for teachers at the time) the payments.  Doing the math it would save me 400-600 a month by doing that, so I did.  At the same time I'm trying to consolidate my student loans (finishing my PhD so there's a lot) and in that process 2 student loan accounts reported being 60 days past due mere days before I called them, had them put the loans in deferment back dating well past the past due amounts.  Meaning that they reported me 60 days late in Feb and the loans are in deferment back dated to Dec.  This dropped my FICO to a 640 (the past due appearing on my CR) and AmEx canceled my account.  They gave me 90 days to fix my credit score and they would reinstate the account - they did not give me a number to shoot for though.

What I've done.  I paid the small balance on my AmEx ($140) the week after they canceled (on time payment).  I have pulled all 3 credit reports and disputed the negatives stating that the loans are in deferment during the time they are reported past due.  I also disputed a hard inquiry that shouldn't have been there.  I pay for everything with my BOA card now and pay the balance in full each month.