cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Score drop after paying off credit card?

tag
irunfromcredit
Frequent Contributor

Score drop after paying off credit card?

Hi All:

I'm pretty new to the whole "credit game," and had a question about utilization and optimizing scores.  

I've read on the boards that reporting utilization between 1%-9% is best for scoring.  Late March, early April I paid off my car loan and all my credit cards, well I let one or two of my cards report around 5%.  I had one card that was slow at reporting as paid and this morning it finally reported on my experian as paid. It took that card's uti from 47% to 0.  Also, with the timing, Chase reported two of my cards paid (I let the balance report, then I PIF and then Chase reports to 0).  Anyhow, my Experian scored dropped 16 points.  My Experian score before the drop was 763.  

So my question is, does this point drop really make a difference?  And I'm thinking about just letting my balances report as is when the my statement closes (I have been paying down my balances to 1-5%).  Would letting my balances report at 10-20% make that much of an impact on my score?

Thanks again for any input!

Scores 8/25/2017~ TU: 753 / EXP: 742 / EQ: 726
Goal: 770's or higher by end of 2017
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Score drop after paying off credit card?

A few things.  One, do you have another installment loan aside from the car loan that you just paid off?  If not, paying off the car loan and not having it on your report as an active installment loan could be the reason for your score drop, not the utilization amounts.

As far as utilization and scoring goes, it's impact is felt month to month.  That said, any points "lost" or "gained" due to utilization would be exactly "gained" or "lost" the following month if you returned all of your balances exactly back to where they were.