Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strategy advice needed to increase score

tag
Varakai
New Contributor

Strategy advice needed to increase score

What is the best strategy to increase my scores?

Pay off a installment car loan $5,000/$14,000?
Reduce util on my boa card $4,800/6,000?
Reduce util on my disc card $5,500/$6,000?

All other cards have similar credit limits and don't have any balances or very small ones.

Overall util 30%

Scores in my sig pulled here yesterday.

Starting Score: 500’s
Current Score: EQ Fico 707 TU Fico 737 TU08 Fico (Wal-Mart)736 EX Fico 733
Goal Score: 760+

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
EW800
Valued Contributor

Re: Strategy advice needed to increase score

I am not an expert in this area, as I too am trying to get scores up, however I would think bringing down the UTIL on the two cards would be your best bet.  It is my understanding that having different "types" of trade lines works to your advantage, so depending on your profile, paying off the car loan may not be your best option.  I have found that getting credit card UTIL under 10% can be very healthy.

Year 2012: All Scores in the 520 range, during a foreclosure, CC Settlement and high UTIL. Very ugly days...
April 2023: EX8: 840; EQ8: 832; TU8: 842 -- Middle Mortgage Score: 822
In My Wallet: Discover $73.7K; Cap1 Venture $48.7K; Amex ED $38K; Amex Optima $2.5K; Amex Delta Gold $18K; Citi Costco $22.5K; Cap1 Plat $8.4K; Barclay $7K; Chase Amazon $6K; BoA Plat $21.6K; Citi TY Pref $21K; US Bank $4K; Dell $5K; Care Credit $6.5K. Total Revolving CL: $296K
My UTIL: Less than 1% - Only allow about $10 a month to report, on one account. .
Message 2 of 6
avggoal700
Frequent Contributor

Just be careful if you make a big payment to pay down your cc, some people report that the cc company sometimes will lower your credit limit after that (CLD).

EX 706. TU 705 EQ 682. Avg 698
Message 3 of 6
user5387
Valued Contributor

@Varakai wrote: