Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student loans and FICO

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student loans and FICO

I am a full time student in school and as a result am lucky enough to be graced with huge amounts of mounting student loan debt. Jealous? I know you are? Well for the privaledge of a higher education, my credit score is suffering because my student loans are on deferment, and the installment loan ratio is not going down. How am I to get my credit score up without having the money at the current time to pay down my student loans? Shouldn't this be a factor in the FICO? Also, I refinaced my car to a lower rate when my FICO went up and saved a ton of money. The probelm is that although over the life of the car I have paid off over 30% of the original balance, but with the new loan I only only down about 5%. Shouldnt that be taken into consideration?

Stephen

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Student loans and FICO

Paramagic wrote:
I am a full time student in school and as a result am lucky enough to be graced with huge amounts of mounting student loan debt. Jealous? I know you are? Well for the privaledge of a higher education, my credit score is suffering because my student loans are on deferment, and the installment loan ratio is not going down. How am I to get my credit score up without having the money at the current time to pay down my student loans? Shouldn't this be a factor in the FICO? Also, I refinaced my car to a lower rate when my FICO went up and saved a ton of money. The probelm is that although over the life of the car I have paid off over 30% of the original balance, but with the new loan I only only down about 5%. Shouldnt that be taken into consideration?

Stephen

What else is on your reports, and what are your FICO scores?

Having high balances on student loans really don't hurt your scores that badly, if at all.  I'd say there must be something else going on.