cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Different Credit Scoring Models Explained (Transunion & Experian)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

The Different Credit Scoring Models Explained (Transunion & Experian)

I have been subscribing to MyFICO for approx 5 years and have recently became curious as to why there was a sizable difference between my Transunion Score and MyFICO Transunion score.

10/03/11 - Transunion Website (784-C grade out of 990 total points)

08-07/11 - MyFICO Website Score (782-excellent out of 850 total points)

Please explain why the actual Transunion website varies greatly from MyFICO.

In addition, the Experian website bases their credit score out of a total of 830 points, not 850 like MyFICO.

10/03/11 - Experian Website (769 out of 830 total points)

Please explain why there is such a difference in scoring. 

Are all three credit models still used today? 

Which one should I use as a guide before applying for credit? 

Is MyFICO still the standard/bible?

I just don't want surprises when applying for credit given the current credit crisis the country is in.  I am most disappointed that my Transunion score is 784 out of 990 points.

Anny feedback is great! thx

Aiming for 780 avg across all 3 scores!

TU 8/07/11 (782), MyFICO

EQ 08/17/11 (773), MyFICO

EXP 10/03/11 (769) EXP website, not MyFICO

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: The Different Credit Scoring Models Explained (Transunion & Experian)

@Anonymous wrote:

I have been subscribing to MyFICO for approx 5 years and have recently became curious as to why there was a sizable difference between my Transunion Score and MyFICO Transunion score.