Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To Close or Not to Close?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

To Close or Not to Close?

Good evening,
I am new to the message board, and have found the postings very educational - thanks everyone! 

My question is about credit cards and whether or not I would be okay with closing some - not necessarily to raise my FICO score...  Here's my situation:  First, I have a very high FICO score.  I generally have very little credit card debt (normally always pay balances every month), plenty of credit history, variety of credit, etc. 

I find, however, that I have way too many credit cards that I have accumulated over the years.  I opened the accounts for special discounts or zero percent financing (i.e. Dell, John Deere, Target, etc.).  After I received the discounts or took advantage of the zero percent financing and paid off the original amounts, I haven't used the accounts. 

A recent FICO report said the amount of cards I have open could be affecting my score.  Frankly, this is not concerning to me, but I would like to close out a few cards since I never use them anyway and would feel better if they were off the books... 

Will doing this lower my FICO score?  The two credit cards I will keep open have a $2500 limit and a $10K limit (I don't owe on either except minor things each month, which I then pay off)... 

I appreciate anyone's thoughts on this...  Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
CreditBob
Established Contributor

Re: To Close or Not to Close?

Keep the three with the oldest hsitory. In other words keep the three cards that you ahve had the longest. Second, the best thing id they are credit cards like visa, mastercard, amex, etc.
Message 2 of 5
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

How many do you have? Nothing wrong with culling the herd if it's out of control, although two is kinda few in these days, with CCC's going nuts all over the place.