Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Totally Confused About Utilization, PIFs

tag
freedom2
Valued Member

Totally Confused About Utilization, PIFs

Good morning all --

I'm a newbie to these forums and am totally confused regarding credit utilization and montly PIF as it pertains to increasing your credit score.  I have 4 new credit cards - Discover IT, Chase Freedom, Barclays Rewards and Amex ED.  My question is:  Will charging and paying in full increase my credit score or should I carry a balance? Many of you know when your ccs report to the CRAs.  I don't even know how to find that information.  Typically,  I pay in full every month on my older credit cards.  Of the 4 new cards I have received over the past 3 weeks, I have only used 2, and have actually pif before even receiving my statements.  My credit scores never seem to move.  They are presently: EX:640, EQ: 653, TU: 678.  Can someone provide guidance on whether carrying a balance helps a credit score.  Many thanks!

Starting Score: 650
Current Score: 654
Goal Score: 700

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
baller4life
Super Contributor

Re: Totally Confused About Utilization, PIFs

For optimum Fico scoring you only carry a balance on 1 card less than 10% of your total avaliable credit. Pif other cards before statement cut date. If you don't see that date online you can call and ask. Smiley Wink

Message 2 of 7
freedom2
Valued Member

Thank you so much baller for your response.  Will do!

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

10% of your total available credit or 10% of that cards credit limit?

Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Great question and response, I was wondering the same thing.

Message 5 of 7
jamie123
Valued Contributor

@freedom2 wrote:

Good morning all --