cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vantagescore or FICO? myFICO TU gives me 686 out of 850, but TU main site gives me 696 out of 990.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Vantagescore or FICO? myFICO TU gives me 686 out of 850, but TU main site gives me 696 out of 990.

Also, the TU site says this when I first log in

" TransUnion Credit Monitoring is pleased to feature VantageScore, the only credit score used by all three national credit bureaus. "

So I'm a newbie to all this and confused which source I should use for my scoring. MYFICO says my TU score is "Good" but TU gives me a "D" failing grade.

Both reports have same items.

Which is what and where is which what how huh?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Vantagescore or FICO? myFICO TU gives me 686 out of 850, but TU main site gives me 696 out of 99

@Anonymous wrote:

" TransUnion Credit Monitoring is pleased to feature VantageScore, the only credit score used by all three national credit bureaus. "

So I'm a newbie to all this and confused which source I should use for my scoring. MYFICO says my TU score is "Good" but TU gives me a "D" failing grade.

The VantageScore is actually used by a few lenders but it's not a score I would rely on or choose. Also the score range for VS is 501-990 whereas FICO ranges from 300-850.

The bottom line is the VS is not a FICO score. The TU score you get here is a true FICO although it's an older version TU98. Many lenders have moved on to the newer TU 04 and some even to the newst TU08. But TU98 is still pulled millions of times a yer and so is still a valid score.

From a BK years ago to:
EX - 3/11 pulled by lender- 835, EQ - 2/11-816, TU - 2/11-782

"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they've made a difference. The Marines don't have that problem".

Message 2 of 10
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

Re: Vantagescore or FICO? myFICO TU gives me 686 out of 850, but TU main site gives me 696 out of 99