Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When should I pay off my credit card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

When should I pay off my credit card?

When is the best time to pay off your credit card, so that it will benefit your credit score? My credit card payments are due on 7th of every month. And the credit reports are usually updated on 10th- 14th.

I am asking this because my credit utilization has been 0% since the last two months, and no matter how much i use, it doesnt showup on my credit report. Maybe its because i pay it off sooner which leaves 0% utilization on my credit card? And because of this, my credit has been intact since quite a while.

I just got my first card four months ago, so I am pretty new to this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated Smiley Happy Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: When should I pay off my credit card?

The CC issuer will report whatever balance is on the card to the three bureaus on the day that the statement prints.  Because you are rushing to always pay the card down to $0, the statement never has a chance to print with a positive Amount Owed at the top.

The tricky part for a person who has his first card is that you want it to report a small but positive balance each month.

The easiest way to do this is with a two-payment approach.

(1) Pay the card down to $5 a few days before the statement prints.  (Or it could be a week before, whatever.)

Then, shortly after the statement prints,

(2)  Pay the balance in full

Then continue to use your card to run up at least another $5 in purchases.

#1 will make sure that the card reports a small but positive balance.  #2 will make sure that you have paid that small balance in full well before the due date.

Message 2 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable