cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is credit simulator dropping score 40+ points?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Why is credit simulator dropping score 40+ points?

I recently did a credit simulator using Credit Karma & Creditwise. I dont have a large total balance of revolving credit VS my credit availability, which is not much as I've been rebuilding since Feb 2016.

$5250 available / $870 owed

On both simulators I put in to pay off my entire balance, also tried $500, $250, and even $100. If I payed all $870 it was dropping my score 44 points.. The others were 40 points, etc. Even CK said that must be wrong because usually dropping utilization would raise, not lower my score.

Anyone ever have this happen? I definitely don't want to lower my score.

Here is my current situation to help answer any questions you might have, or to help why this would happen.

Started @ 499 Fico after lost all my cards (no BK) in 2008/2010 recession hit me.

My scores are far from great and I've been rebuilding back since Feb 2016. Started with unsecured Cap1 Plat credit builder @ $100 SL moved to $500, several store cards to help raise my scores, new car Dec 2016 through Cap1 Auto, and recently a Cap1 QS1 with $500 SL

I'm now sitting at Fico 8 scores of TU 619, EQ 623, EX 618.

I don't have a lot of credit available (sitting at about $5250 total). I have 100% payment history last 18 months (no negative marks on any credit lines). I have 0 baddies & 0 public records. I have about 8/9 INQ on each bureau. I'm currently using about 32% of my credit, mostly because I have a large mattress purchase balance running on a store card @ 18 months 0% apr. Everything else I usually PIF or carry small balance 2 months.

Current cards (32% utilization overall) only because my recent $500 CLI and $2350 in available credit has not hit my reports yet because the cards haven't shown up yet (too recent). My utilization should drop significantly after they do.