cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why my credit went down from a $0 balance report?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Why my credit went down from a $0 balance report?

I got my Capital One secured mastercard about 2 months ago with a credit limit of $301. The first month they reported, my credit score (reported $49 balances) went up a decent sum (about 60-70 points). The next month they reported a $0 balance and my credit score went down about 10 for each. Note that both of these I've been paying off every month on time the full amount. Also this is my first credit card, can anyone expalin these occurrences?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Why my credit went down from a $0 balance report?

It sucks, right? You would think that PIF a balance would be a good thing. Unfortunately, it's not. Always allow one credit card to report a balance less than 10% utilization. If you are being charged interest. allow like $5 to report. The FICO model is very sensitive. I hope this helps and keep up the good work!!!

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Why my credit went down from a $0 balance report? It

Yep. If you have 0% util is negative. Keep it between 1% - 7% for the best result (according to a myFico educational poster I saw the other day).

Message 3 of 7
CribDuchess
Established Contributor

Agree with the other posters.  Any time I have zero balances report across all accounts, it costs me 9 or 10 points.

FICOs: TU08 842 EQ08 850 EX08 850