cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wide disparity between EX Score pulled from MYFICO and FreeCreditReport...what gives?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Wide disparity between EX Score pulled from MYFICO and FreeCreditReport...what gives?

I've been working on my scores for two years and have brought them up significantly in that time.  In 2007 my scores were in the low 500's and here in early January they were as follows:

TU: 639

EQ: 657

EX: 638

I pulled my the my EQ and TU reports yesterday and the scores were as follows:

TU: 641

EQ: 669

In an effort to get some kind of score from EX I pulled a free credit report from the site with the singing idiots yesterday and found that my actual credit report had not changed one iota.  However, the score they gave on the last page of the report indicated a Plus Credit Score of 520!?

That's an almost 120 point drop since January with absolutely no changes to the underlying data!

Is this the result of EX issuing a FAKO score versus a FICO score or what?  Any thoughts on what's going on here?

Message 1 of 8
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Guardian
Valued Contributor

Re: Wide disparity between EX Score pulled from MYFICO and FreeCreditReport...what gives?

Well FICO and FAKO are different. When you get it from myFICO, you are getting the real FICO score. When you get from FreeCreditReport, you are getting Experian's FAKO useless score based on their Vantage/Plus model. Don't waste your money, no one uses it, no one cares about it and it means near nothing. Hope that clears it up for you.

Common Abbreviations|FDCPA|FCRA
Take the FICO Fitness ChallengeStarting Score: TU:695 - EQ:719 - EX:630
Current Score: TU:712 - EQ:755 - EX:712
Goal Score: TU:800 - EQ:800 - EX:800

Message 2 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Guardian
Valued Contributor

Re: Wide disparity between EX Score pulled from MYFICO and FreeCreditReport...what gives?