cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will paying off my entire auto loan in one lump sum have any effect on my credit scores?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will paying off my entire auto loan in one lump sum have any effect on my credit scores?

Hello All,

I just recently registered on these boards after lurking for a few months. I've been in the process of working on my credit and have recently brough my scores up to the 700-720 range. I currently have a $13,000 auto loan at 5.25%. I've been paying in full and on time every month for the past 15 months. I have been aggressively saving money and now have the ability to pay off the entire loan in one lump payment. My question is: if I were to pay off the entire loan, how would that effect my credit score? I currently don't have any real credit history - I just recently was approved for a Capital One Quicksilver card back in March and had a CLI bring the limit to $800. And over the weekend I was approved for an Amex Delta Gold card. Aside from that, I have no credit history since 2009 where I paid off a Chase card that went to collections. 

It was my understanding that my credit is directly tied to the age of my various accounts - so as silly as it sounds, I'm concerned that paying off the auto loan in full may have a not-so-positive effect on my score.

Hope this question makes sense - I look forward to participating more on the boards now that I finally made an account Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
RonM21
Valued Contributor

Re: Will paying off my entire auto loan in one lump sum have any effect on my credit scores?

Welcome to the forums!

Looks like you've been doing well on your credit!