cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wow 20 down but only 6 up? Makes no sense??

tag
mandev97

Wow 20 down but only 6 up? Makes no sense??

I realize that everyone expresses the same frustration of not understanding exactly HOW a FICO score is determined...but this is crazy.....My credit dropped 21 points because of a collection in December (didn't know it was going there as I was working something out with the creditor, at least I thought I was)....anyway, I paid off the collection AND a $5618 balance on a CC with a $12,500 limit (I am a Realtor and received a commission check allowing me to do this). ANYWAY! After BOTH of those reported....my FICO only went up 6 points?? Really??

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
GregB
Valued Contributor

Re: Wow 20 down but only 6 up? Makes no sense??

Is the collection GONE from your reports or is it still there but showing paid? Paid collection hurts as much as one that hasn't been paid.

Message 2 of 10
mandev97

It is gone. It was removed, not just marked paid.

Message 3 of 10
mandev97

And the collection was $126

Message 4 of 10
cdtotten
Established Contributor

Something else must have changed in your report. Take a look at page 2 of your FICO reports and compare the factors hurting your credit score... what do they show?

Starting Score: 627 EQ, 621 TU - 11/15/08
Current Score: 778 EQ, 781 TU, 778 EXP 07/20/12 Lender Pull
Goal Score: 800 EQ & TU

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 5 of 10
John060675
Valued Contributor

I know you mentioned FICO a couple times in your posting, but I just have to make sure since your situation seems so strange.  You did purchase your FICO scores through this website, correct?  It is not a FAKO from another source.

Again, sorry to ask, but I just cannot believe your true FICO only went up 6 points.

Starting Score: 583 EQ, 612 EX, 569 TU
Current Score: 658 EQ, 648 EX, 618 TU
Goal Score: 720 EQ, 720 EX, 720 TU

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 6 of 10