Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Yearly Income

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yearly Income

Does your yearly income increasing affect your FICO score? As a small business owner my debt ratio has allways been high on my credit reports, however all of my other factors are good. What factor does yearly cliamed income being less than normal for a given amount of debt does affect? Any thoughts on this from anyone would be appreciated.   
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Yearly Income

@Anonymous wrote:
Does your yearly income increasing affect your FICO score? As a small business owner my debt ratio has allways been high on my credit reports, however all of my other factors are good. What factor does yearly cliamed income being less than normal for a given amount of debt does affect? Any thoughts on this from anyone would be appreciated.

income as far as i know does not affect your credit score
Message 2 of 7
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

@Anonymous wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

income as far as i know does not affect your credit score

This is correct. Income is not reported on your credit reports, and therefore there is no way that it can be factored into your scores, which are completely derived from info on your reports.

It does come into play when applying for credit products, such as credit cards, loans, and mortgages.

I think that the ratio that you are seeing on your reports is your utilization ratio, which is the amount owed divided by your credit limit. If two people owed $1000 on a $10,000 credit limit card, and one had an income of $20K/ year and the other had an income of $200K/ year, they would each have a util of 10% on that card.
* Credit is a wonderful servant, but a terrible master. * Who's the boss --you or your credit?
FICO's: EQ 781 - TU 793 - EX 779 (from PSECU) - Done credit hunting; having fun with credit gardening. - EQ 590 on 5/14/2007
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable