Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

reduce auto loan interest payment and build credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

reduce auto loan interest payment and build credit

I am new to this credit score world, will appreciate any help from you guys.

Me and my husband just financed our new car. Both of our credit scores are 700+. But we ended up getting a rate of 8.99%. The dealer said that's because we have no installment loan history.

We want to build our installment loan history, so we are able to get a better mortgage rate in the future. But seriously, 8.99 is too high and we actually have enough cash to pay off the loan.

I am thinking to pay large amount of principle now, to bring the loan down to around 2000 or 3000. Then stretch this over the 72 months loan period, so we do not need to pay thousands for interest, while still can maintain a good mix for the score.

How do you think of my idea? Will pay large amount of principle help my credit or harm my credit?

Thank you to you all.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
FrugalRican
Blogger

Re: reduce auto loan interest payment and build credit

Good news: Your car loan IS an installment loan and it will definitely help your "installment" history.

Essentially, problem solved.

The thing I'd do is have steady payments for 6 - 12 months and then look into refinancing your car for a lower rate and maybe a shorter term as well.

Paying on the principal won't do anything towards your score. It would save you a lot of money on the interest though.

Follow my financial journey: http://www.frugalrican.com

EQ FICO (01/16/2012): 656 - EQ FICO (02/16/2012): 743 - EQ (02/24/2012): 760 - EX (04/28/2012): 739 - GOAL 2013: 800+

AMEX BCE (0/10K) --- BOA 1-2-3 (0/15.9K) --- Discover More (0/6K) --- Chase Freedom Visa (0/1.4K) -- Hyatt Visa Sign. (0/5.8K) -- Barclay's NFL Card (0/7.5K) -- Chase Sapphire Preferred (0/5K)

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you so much for your reply.