Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

score dropped 21 points due to high credit utilization

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

score dropped 21 points due to high credit utilization

Hello,

So i have two credit cards, 2 thousand limit for one and 1000 for the other. My score just dropped 21 points because i'm at 34 percent for use for both. I'm new to this and am just wondering why utilization would impact my score? and how long does it take to bounce back from it when my use percetage is lower? i was on a roll as far as my score going up.

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: score dropped 21 points due to high credit utilization

It'll go back up as soon as the statements report a lower util. There is no memory.

For best results pay all cards to $0 except one before the statements cut. For the one reporting a balance, keep it under 10%.

Message 2 of 10
NRB525
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello,

So i have two credit cards, 2 thousand limit for one and 1000 for the other. My score just dropped 21 points because i'm at 34 percent for use for both. I'm new to this and am just wondering why utilization would impact my score? and how long does it take to bounce back from it when my use percetage is lower? i was on a roll as far as my score going up.

Which two cards are those? What are your FICO scores now?