cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stolen cell-phone fiasco... not reported?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

stolen cell-phone fiasco... not reported?

Hi,

I have FICO around 740.

About a year ago my cell phone was stolen, 6200 (you're reading that right) racked up on it in a short period of time before I reported it missing, a T-Mobile holding me accountable since it was before the reported date. I'm a student and I don't really have the money, so I've been ignoring their daily calls. However it's been a year and they still haven't reported it to collections. Are they not going to? If they do, am I screwed or does cell phone stuff not affect you that much (a few adults have told me this)? Advice?

(PS Has anyone ever had the debt erased in a similar situation? These calls began within 10 minutes of it being stolen, if you can believe that, so well within 24hrs which seems a reasonable grace period to me. )

Stephanie

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Jazzzy
Valued Contributor

Re: stolen cell-phone fiasco... not reported?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi,

I have FICO around 740.

About a year ago my cell phone was stolen, 6200 (you're reading that right) racked up on it in a short period of time before I reported it missing, a T-Mobile holding me accountable since it was before the reported date. I'm a student and I don't really have the money, so I've been ignoring their daily calls. However it's been a year and they still haven't reported it to collections. Are they not going to? If they do, am I screwed or does cell phone stuff not affect you that much (a few adults have told me this)? Advice?

(PS Has anyone ever had the debt erased in a similar situation? These calls began within 10 minutes of it being stolen, if you can believe that, so well within 24hrs which seems a reasonable grace period to me. )

Stephanie