Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

will this new card lower my FICO score?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

will this new card lower my FICO score?

I'm just learning about how credit scores work, so I need your help.

I recently applied for a card that I don't need (United Explorer). I was accepted with a $25,000 limit. They sent me the card which I received last week. I have not yet activate it. I was planning to keep the card for 11 months, then cancel it to avoid the $95 annual fee.  I'm now thinking that this might be a stupid plan because I am afraid it will lower my average account age and lower my credit score.  My stats are listed below.

So my questions:

1) Would activating this card, then closing it after 11 months, lower my credit score by reducing my average account age?
2) Should I immediately tell the card company (Chase) that I don't want the card?  Since I have not yet activated it, I'm thining maybe it will never appear on a credit report.

My stats:

From MyFico:

My TransUnion FICO score:  779

14 accounts (7 open, 7 closed)

0 delinquent

0 derogatory

0 public records

UTIL ratio 4%

Oldest account 19 years

Average age 7 years

The weakest part of my score is the amount of new credit that I've requested; I opened up two new cards in the past year.

From Equifax:

Total credit limit $121,000

Average account age 8 years

Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Epcot
Valued Contributor

Re: will this new card lower my FICO score?

Unfortunately you already took the hit for AAoA and Inquiry. Regardless if you don't activate it or cancel the card it will report. Go ahead and enjoy your new card!

Starting Score: EQ 717 EX 724 TU 736
Current Score: EQ 849 EX 835 TU 841
Message 2 of 5
dodfire
Valued Contributor