Moderator Emerita
Community Leader
Epic Contributor
haulingthescoreup
Re: My wife is making my financial life miserable
[ Edited ]

tekzone wrote:

Yeah - no kidding.  My wife wants to take out student loans to start a career in medical billing and coding, but I'm not sure this career will yeild a good ROI. 

Hey, just my perspective: I am a medical coder, no billing. I have a two-year degree from a community college in Health Information Technology, in a program that is accredited by AHIMA. (IMO, that part is important.) It was from a state-supported school, not a for-profit school. (IMO, that was also important, probably way more important than the first. I am VERY skeptical about most for-profit schools.) Most graduates from "medical coding/ billing" programs go to work for doctors' practices, and the pay is much lower than that earned by graduates of two-year AHIMA-accredited programs. Yes, there are absolutely exceptions, but they are exceptions. If she can't find an AHIMA-related school, she should at a minimum find a local chapter of AAPC and get plugged into their exam-prep groups.