New Visitor
alsa
How to cash in with Cash for Clunkers with Bad Credit?

This is my first time posting here and I am looking for advice as to the best way to go about taking advantage of the new “Cash for Clunkers” program when I am sort of credit challenged at the moment. Here’s my situation, sorry for the extensive details, but I thought it might be helpful for those of you willing to share advice/opinions.

We are a couple in our 50’s, decent incomes, each earn about $80K annually, long term employed in jobs that are not likely to be affected by the recession in the near term. With a couple of kids in college, a couple or mortgages, etc. we have found ourselves somewhat stretched the past couple years. .

In any event, we are in need of a newer vehicle. I currently have 3 cars registered in my name—all over 10 years old and all with mileage exceeding 120,000. The recently passed “Cash for Clunkers” program seems like a great opportunity in this situation, as the least serviceable of these vehicles would qualify for the rebate of $3500-4500 (a ’99 Suzuki Grand Vitara that my son has been driving for the past 6 years and is probably worth about $500 at best).