New Contributor
readyfireaim
Re: Chase Credit Card Application Status
[ Edited ]

Called 1-888-245-0625 today to check on the status of my Chase Southwest Rapid Rewards Premier card and was told that I was denied due to a $773 charge-off more than 10 years ago. I explained to the rep that I got the card when I was a freshman in college and that my Dad took the card from me because I wasn't using it responsibly and I didn't have any income other than my financial aid overage check (all true). My Dad has the same name as I do (i'm the 3rd) and knew my SSN and basically kept the card and used it as his own, supposedly helping me build my credit... until he ran into hard times of his own and got my account charged-off.

I explained to the rep that the company I work with has switched our corporate travel to Southwest Airlines (a bit of a stretch... I do fly for work, but we book our own flights and get reimbursed afterward) and that having this card would be great for me as well as Chase. I let him know that I PIF to the CA and expressed a desire to establish goodwill with Chase and get a fresh start with a great company. (kiss-kiss-smooch-smooch)

He asked me a few questions, verifying information from my application... the main questions were about whether I rent or own, the amount I pay for my home, the length of time I've lived here, and how long I've worked at my current job. He also reviewed my current portflio of cards and noted the low & zero balances on each. After those questions, he put me on hold and I had my fingers crossed.