Reply
Frequent Contributor
ctb89
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Autocomplete Login Info

[ Edited ]

Recently, I noticed that my iPad was no longer auto filling my login info on this site. It has become a nuisance because I don't stay logged in for very long and do most of my browsing from my iPad. I decided to check the source code on my Mac and low and behold, I find the dreaded autofill="off" attribute for the login form element. This is the most obnoxious attribute in the HTML spec. Why do this? I want to save my password...don't get in my way. Why does myFICO think it knows what's better for me than I do? This is one of those ridiculous "protect the users from themselves" measures. On my Mac, I force my browser to ignore this kind of BS. On my iPad/iPhone, it's not so simple. Fortunately they are both jailbroken so there may be a solution. But I find this so infuriating, I'm not even going to try. I'd rather just leave myFICO, both the forum and paid products.

Established Contributor
2NE1
Posts: 989
Registered: ‎12-06-2011

Re: Autocomplete Login Info

I thought I was the only one having this issue cause my phone is set to automatically save passwords and for some unknown reason it wouldn't work on this site anymore. Can you add that feature again? like OP mentioned it really is a nuisance and frustrating!

:smileysad:

Starting Score: 486 EQ, 529 TU, 518 EX 12/6/2011 (FICOS - lender pull)
Current Score: 595 EQ SW 1/10/13 628 TU08 1/10/2013 593 EX (BoA HP) 1/5/12
Goal Score: > 620
Take the FICO Fitness Challenge! | Diamond Spade Garden Club Member: App free since 7/2012
Moderator Emeritus
llecs
Posts: 32,880
Registered: ‎08-04-2007

Re: Autocomplete Login Info

I thought my kids did something to my computer. :smileysurprised:

 

I'm sure it's just temporary as they continue with the upgrades. Bumping for a resident technical Admin.

Regular Contributor
gypsysoul
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎09-02-2011

Re: Autocomplete Login Info

+1

 

3/07/12 EQ 600 10/02/12 EQ 688
08/13/12 TU(walmart) 653
09/12/12 EX(plus) 655
Administrator Emeritus
mod-moose
Posts: 989
Registered: ‎05-24-2007

Re: Autocomplete Login Info


llecs wrote:

I thought my kids did something to my computer. :smileysurprised:

 

I'm sure it's just temporary as they continue with the upgrades. Bumping for a resident technical Admin.


I thought I had done something to my computer too.  I went looking for answers, I was told that there were no changes made so that's not the cause.  The people I reported this to said the auto login was working for them.  I'll see what else I can dig up.

 

Will everyone who auto login isn't working please let me know what browser you're using.  

 

If it's working for you, please let me know what browser your using too!  

 

Thank you,

 

 

mod.moose
Moderator Emeritus
llecs
Posts: 32,880
Registered: ‎08-04-2007

Re: Autocomplete Login Info

Not working on IE 8.0.6.

Frequent Contributor
ctb89
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Re: Autocomplete Login Info


mod-moose wrote:

llecs wrote:

I thought my kids did something to my computer. :smileysurprised:

 

I'm sure it's just temporary as they continue with the upgrades. Bumping for a resident technical Admin.


I thought I had done something to my computer too.  I went looking for answers, I was told that there were no changes made so that's not the cause.  The people I reported this to said the auto login was working for them.  I'll see what else I can dig up.

 

Will everyone who auto login isn't working please let me know what browser you're using.  

 

If it's working for you, please let me know what browser your using too!  

 

Thank you,

 

 


Please, read my OP. I already said what the problem was. It's not a browser issue, in fact the browsers are working exactly as they should by respecting your website's command telling them not to auto fill the login form. Someone inserted the autocomplete="off" attribute to your template. As someone with programming experience, I can't stress how simple this is to fix. Tell one of your software engineers to look at the HTML source and locate the aforementioned attribute. Just remove the whole thing since browsers default to autocomplete="on".
Administrator Emeritus
mod-moose
Posts: 989
Registered: ‎05-24-2007

Re: Autocomplete Login Info


ctb89 wrote:

mod-moose wrote:

llecs wrote:

I thought my kids did something to my computer. :smileysurprised:

 

I'm sure it's just temporary as they continue with the upgrades. Bumping for a resident technical Admin.


I thought I had done something to my computer too.  I went looking for answers, I was told that there were no changes made so that's not the cause.  The people I reported this to said the auto login was working for them.  I'll see what else I can dig up.

 

Will everyone who auto login isn't working please let me know what browser you're using.  

 

If it's working for you, please let me know what browser your using too!  

 

Thank you,

 

 


Please, read my OP. I already said what the problem was. It's not a browser issue, in fact the browsers are working exactly as they should by respecting your website's command telling them not to auto fill the login form. Someone inserted the autocomplete="off" attribute to your template. As someone with programming experience, I can't stress how simple this is to fix. Tell one of your software engineers to look at the HTML source and locate the aforementioned attribute. Just remove the whole thing since browsers default to autocomplete="on".

If it was the software, wouldn't everyone have the issue?  The people I talked to weren't having the issue.  

mod.moose
Frequent Contributor
ctb89
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Re: Autocomplete Login Info

[ Edited ]

Your people are either using a browser/plugin that doesn't respect the autocomplete attribute, edited. They must be lazy as hell because if they took 60 seconds to look at their own template, they would see the issue. Here, pass this image on to them so they can see exactly what I'm talking about:

Administrator Emeritus
mod-moose
Posts: 989
Registered: ‎05-24-2007

Re: Autocomplete Login Info

[ Edited ]

ctb89 wrote:

 Here, pass this image on to them so they can see exactly what I'm talking about:



Thanks  ctb89,

 

I will pass this screen shot along.  

 

ETA:  I have found if you use the "sign off" page as your bookmark, the auto complete works for me there. https://www.myfico.com/SystemAccess/Logout.aspx?referer=http%3A%2F%2Fficoforums.myfico.com%2F

mod.moose

myFICO is the consumer division of FICO. Since its introduction 20 years ago, the FICO® Score has become a global standard for measuring credit risk in the banking, mortgage, credit card, auto and retail industries. 90 of the top 100 largest U.S. financial institutions use the FICO Score to make consumer credit decisions.

>> About myFICO
FICO Score - The Score that matters
Fair Isaac Corporation is a BBB Accredited Financial Service in San Rafael, CA
FOLLOW US Social Media Facebook Twitter Pinterest Google+