cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

12% interest car loan?? Bad credit. 72 terms??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

12% interest car loan?? Bad credit. 72 terms??

Hi all! This is my first time posting on this form so any help would be greatly appreciated!! Today went to a Hyundai dealership and I am looking to purchase a new car, it will be the first time I buy a car all by myself (prior cars were co signed). My question is I am not sure what I'm getting into the something good. I have very bad credit. My credit score is currently 477 and the bank approved me for a 12% interest car loan for 72 months. My monthly payment will be $375. I just want to get some input and see what you guys thought and if you have anything questions or what I should tell them, tonight I was there for three hours and I told him that I would think about it and come back tomorrow. I know my credit score ruins things for me..maybe I can refinance after a year??? Thank you!!
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 12% interest car loan?? Bad credit. 72 terms??

Is this your FICO score or your score off of Credit Karma? 

Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fico score Smiley Sad
Message 3 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

The advice I would give is not to purchase a new car honestly... unless you are only getting the loan in hopes of boosting your credit score. You would but a cargo ship in interest over the life, I am frankly suprised that the interest rate is only 12%. IF you can pay the loan off in 6 months get whatever car you want but if not I would get the cheapest car you drive safely and work on getting your score up. 

Message 4 of 12
stellar
Established Contributor

You can try to go through a credit union for financing now.  Or try capital one's prequalifier.  

Or you can take the deal and refinance in 6 months with a credit union like DCU, Penfed, Navy Fed.