cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

740 FICO score, car loan?

tag
ssd_guru

740 FICO score, car loan?

I've got an EQ score of 740 and make 41k a year, I'd like to know what a CU or dealership might approve me for as far as a loan. I don't have anything to pay off currently other than around 3k in revolving credit (30k total, about 10% usage), car insurance, and a phone bill. I'd like to know what amount I might be approved for.

I've read many discussions that state you shouldn't pay more than 20% a month for a car payment, meaning at 60 months, the loan would be the same amount as one's salary. 20% sounds a little high but I'd like to know if a loan for that (41k) is actually possible with a great rate. I'm looking to get a loan for around 30k.

Any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: 740 FICO score, 41k salary, maximum car loan?

I'm no expert on car loans, but I'll take a stab. Do you have a housing payment?

Message 2 of 7
ssd_guru

No housing payment. What I listed above is all I'm currently responsible for.

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@iconvincemei wrote:

I've got an EQ score of 740 and make 41k a year, I'd like to know what a CU or dealership might approve me for as far as a loan. I don't have anything to pay off currently other than around 3k in revolving credit (30k total, about 10% usage), car insurance, and a phone bill. I'd like to know what amount I might be approved for.

I've read many discussions that state you shouldn't pay more than 20% a month for a car payment, meaning at 60 months, the loan would be the same amount as one's salary. 20% sounds a little high but I'd like to know if a loan for that (41k) is actually possible with a great rate. I'm looking to get a loan for around 30k.

Any insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks!