Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attempting to get down to 0% or 0.9% financing

tag
SecondToLastDraftDodger
Established Member

Attempting to get down to 0% or 0.9% financing

I'll start by saying I'm new to credit and auto financing. Previously, I bought all my vehicles with cash.

I'm planning to buy a car either in the summer or early fall. I have enough idle money to buy the car I'm going to get four times over. However, I'd like to finance it for credit reporting reasons. But it seems counter-productive to pay 4 or 5 or higher percent interest to borrow money that I already have. 

So, my question is, assuming your credit qualifies you for top tier rates, can putting a sizeable down payment on a vehicle get the dealership to offer lower financing rates than they may otherwise? So for instance, if the vehicle's final price is $40k and I put down $25 or $30k, could than convince a dealership to offer very low interest rates, even if they aren't currently advertising that incentive?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
CreditCuriosity
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Attempting to get down to 0% or 0.9% financing