Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto loan with very thin credit history

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Auto loan with very thin credit history

I am thinking about buying a car, but I am new in the United States.

I am here for 9 months and my credit history is 8 months.

I have 3 credit cards from BofA, AmEx and Discover.

My TU FICO score is 709 and EX FICO score is 716.

Thinking about Toyota C-HR XLE right now. It cost about $25k + taxes and registration.

Income - $23k. I can apply joint with my wife, she has the same annual income.

But I didn't get a pre-qualification through Capital One Auto Navigator.

Any suggestions? Or should I wait some time? Or maybe anybody had the same situation?

4 REPLIES 4
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: Auto loan with very thin credit history

When I worked at Chase, the most we would approve for was equivalent to your yearly income. Having a co-signer will help, but it will depend on the DTI ratio. Try out some online calculators and factor the estimated monthly payment into your DTI. If it's above 35%, you need more money down. Also keep in mind that taxes, LIC, docs, and fees will generally add 10% of the car's value to the total.

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you for tips. I have $5k down max.
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Income is low - sorry.  You are lookign to buy a car that costs more than your annual income.

Your credit scores are good but I don't want to se eyou bite off more than you can chew in a monthly payment.

Round out your credit portfolio with some sort of installment loan like Self Lender that will help your auto scores.

I would aso look at a lesser car.  I know the C-HR is a relatively new model but look if you can get a certified pre-owned one.  You might be suprised how much it will save and still give a great warranty sometimes even better than new.