Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DCU demand to be added as lienholder on title or interest will increase to 18%

tag
Royalbacon
Frequent Contributor

DCU demand to be added as lienholder on title or interest will increase to 18%

So I bought my truck at beginning of January. Just received the title at the end of February in the mail. Anyways I refinanced with DCU at end of January before my first payment was due because the dealer approved me at almost 13% with Huntington. They just last week sent an email saying they needed to be added as the lienholder on the title within 180 days or my interest will increase to 18%. Assuming they mean 180 days from when my loan was opened at the end of January rather then when they sent the email... Which still does give me plenty of time.

Anyways I thought DCU would take care of all this themselves but w/e. I am just 23 though and this is my first time buying a vehicle that isn't a cheap junker I paid in full with cash so i'm still learning how everything works.

Went to the DMV and said I needed a lien release from the bank currently on the title who I had my loan with before I refinanced before I can switch lienholders. Never got said form in the mail, not sure what it looks like. Only thing I got is a letter saying my loan was paid off and they're transferring the title to the financial institution that paid off the loan, which I don't think counts as a lien release form. So anyways I call up Huntington and said I should receive it within 4 business days. So hopefull they get me that form like they said I would and hopefully the DMV can get something, the title or something official indicating they're the lienholder so my interest doesn't get jacked up and possibly worse things may happen.