Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I qualify for an auto loan?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Do I qualify for an auto loan?

Hello!

I am currently looking to finance a car. I'm looking to finance betwen $6,000 and $7,000. I am looking at cars in the $7-8k price bracket with about $2,000 to put down.

I am a college student with a relatively short credit history. I have had one credit card account for a little over a year, and another credit card account for approximately 6 months. My TransUnion score is a 715 (currently) and my FICO score is a 695 (as of one month ago). I have never had a late payment and always spend less than my combined $1,600 limit. 

My income varies yearly, as I am a college student that works part-time. I make about $10,000/year at my part time job and recieve about $6,000 per year in refunds from my college scholarships and financial aid. 

I have no issue getting a cosigner for an auto loan and am totally open to it if it is necessary. My parents have already agreed to cosign if they need to. However, my parents do have a lower credit score than I do. Their credit is not necessarily bad, but they do have a longer credit history than I do.

I know that the length of my credit history and my income will be issues in this process. I was just wondering how I could go about it or if I should not even try...

4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Do I qualify for an auto loan?

As many people here have stated, almost anyone can get financed for car because it is a secured loan. The only question will be what your terms are. You have good credit scores so you should definitely be able to get a car loan with an interest rate in the single digits. And, you're putting 25%+ as a down payment. Conventional wisdom says a credit union might be able to offer you the best terms. I think you're going to be just fine.

Message 2 of 5
800who
Regular Contributor