cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do dealers really do this??? Or was i lied to?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Do dealers really do this??? Or was i lied to?

So, i am new to the whole subprime loan world. We just bought a car, we are withing the time tonreturn and one "answer" they gave me in paperwork just has been bugging me a bit.

The car was listed on their site at 11500. We came into the dealership prequalified with prestige. They said only 2 cars qualified under prestiges terms laid out. One was a horrible car and the other was the one we currently have feom thwm (i think it was a sales tactic) 

Anyway on the paperwork they said the car was around 12500... i pointed out the website said 11500 so they switched it. Then when we went into the finance manager it said 12100. He said its because they have to pay prestige to take the loan?(or something to that effect...) is that a thing? This is the dealership prestige sent us to, seems odd... but i dont buy cars often. 

IF they do pay like that... wouldnt it be listed out instead of just have the main car price raised?

Been trying to figure it all out, but i cant find any info on this supposed amount dealerships prepay for loans.

Anyone know if this is a thing? And if so, what amount is it typically at? And is it just randomly in the price, or listed out on paperwork? Any insight is appreciated

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Do dealers really do this??? Or was i lied to?

Sorry but you were lied to. Here is what happened. The prices dealers quote involve them getting all their kickbacks. One of the kickbacks is from the lender they send your loan to. Since you came in with a loan already, one of the kickbacks they will NOT get is for a loan they initiate. Since they are counting on that money they raise the price of the car by the amount to make up for it. Dealers don’t pay lenders to take loans. It’s the other way around.