cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Has anyone ever been repo'd? Curious how far you can get behind on payments.....

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Has anyone ever been repo'd? Curious how far you can get behind on payments.....

I apologize if I posted this in the wrong thread. I currently own a 2010 Toyota Yaris that I've been financing since June 2010. I made all of my payments up until recently when my temp job ended. I've been out of work for three weeks, and thankfully my Federal Tax Refund has kept me afloat for my bills this month. However, my biggest chunk, my Toyota payment is past due. I'm going to hit a month late next Monday, the 28th.

Has anyone ever had their car taken, and if so, how many months were you behind? I talked to a Toyota rep back in January and he told me two things that may or may not be true: 1) Missing a car payment with Toyota won't affect your credit until the payment is 30 days or more past due. I haven't checked my credit report, so I'm not sure if that's true. And 2) You have to be horribly deliquent, such as 3-6 months past due for them to waste the energy and money to have their car repossessed as they know that keeping the customer is the main money maker for them.

I'm in my mid 20's and just a little concerned about this, as the car is my main means of getting back and forth to a job(once I get one) and also the main fact that having my car repo'd would destroy my credit and incure possible legal issues/damages as well.

Thanks for any and all advice.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
LIGHTNIN
Senior Contributor

Re: Has anyone ever been repo'd? Curious how far you can get behind on payments.....

Legally they can repo after one missed payment.

DH about 10yrs ago had his SUV repo'ed.

What I didn't know about an auto loan was, you don't only have to have you missed payment but your current one too.