Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I want to buy my first car but...

tag
BearOSO
Contributor

I want to buy my first car but...

So I have been looking around but do not know where or how to start. 

I was wondering if a bank or lender would offer an auto loan for a used car (not trying to push my luck with a new one) with my 12,000 a year income, a co-signer (mother) and a downpayment from anywhere between 7-12 thousand. 

I want to take a loan out but have no "income" on paper except for a VA disability check I receive of 1009 per month. I am a full time student and get paid a sizeable amount for some one like me through the GI Bill but the cost of living in NYC takes its fair share every month. (Not sure if I should post specific figures)

I initally had 11000 in savings but Hurricane Sandy easily took ~4000 grand in one shot. 

In Feb. a CD I have matures and will immediately cash out for a little more than 5000 that will go towards my savings for a car. 

Do you think it is feasible? I was thinking of maintaining my savings and just buying a used car cash, but after some number crunching I think I would be better off with a loan and paying it off as quickly as possible. 

Any options out there? Or should I join the savings garden?

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
MovingForward_2012
Valued Contributor

Re: I want to buy my first car but...

You will save money buy buying a car cash (interest free), hands down is the way you should do it if you can. If you can't find a decent car for cash, then put down as much as you can on the car but DO NOT deplete your emergency fund. There have been a few who were able to get financed on a fixed income such as yourself but they will want to make sure you have the disposable income to make payments. How much car can you afford monthly? And what are your scores?