Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible to be approved?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Possible to be approved?

I'm in the market for a new car. I work part-time, but the majority of the shifts are overnight which at least allows me to bring in $2000-$2200 a month in gross pay. I've been working there for three years. I also have a second job, but have just barely started so the job history on that won't be very substantial. My expenses are very low--very, very low now that I've moved back in with family some months ago and they are gracious enough that I don't have to pay rent. I only pay for food and internet.

Now, my credit score is 752. However, I suspect that is inflated considering I've only had credit history for 1 year and 3 months. I'm 24, but was never really encouraged to start building credit, hence the short history. On top of that, I only have one open line of credit, a discover card. The credit limit is only $1,450, also not very substantial, and my minimum payment, were I to only pay that, would be $20.00. If loans were given out based on someone's word, I could easily prove I'm a responsible person. But since this won't be based on a persuasive essay, I'm quite nervous about my chances. I figure someone, somewhere can throw me a bone and approve some kind of loan (the rhyming there was not intentional) but I'm concerned that it will be for a low amount or with an insanely high interest rate, or both combined. I'm willing to put down $5,000-$6,000 as I have my eye on a few new cars. Someone is helping me with the selling process once I get pre-approved, so I'm certain I won't be paying sticker price, but regardless, I have to get a loan pre-approved under the assumption that I will, plus tax and registration fees.