cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pros and Cons of co-borrowing auto loan with boyfriend? / Purchasing/financing vehicle with lien?

tag
Munchkinerin
Established Member

Pros and Cons of co-borrowing auto loan with boyfriend? / Purchasing/financing vehicle with lien?

Hi all!

My boyfriend and I are trying to get everything ready for us to start traveling full time in a fifth wheel (RV). I am a travel nurse so we will be going where my job takes us - moving locations about every three months. My boyfriend will try to find jobs when he can but we are making sure we will be able to afford our debts and lifestyle on my income alone in case he is unable to find work. In October we purchased/financed a fifth wheel as co-borrowers/co-owners and I’m now trying to get feedback on if we should go the same route for the truck we will be purchasing very soon.

Stats:

My FICO Auto Score 5 on 9/18: 694

My FICO Auto Score 5 on 11/15: 756

My credit history: 1 credit card, 2 store cards both of which had 1-2 30 day late payments (I have since gotten one of the two accounts dropped from all 3 agencies), 1 auto loan (still owe about $13k),  am an authorized user of 2-3 of my moms credit cards and now I of course have the fifth wheel we just financed.

Boyfriend's FICO Auto Score 5 on 9/18: 760

Boyfriends credit history: 1 credit card and student loans

Because RV’s are recreational use and more risky than your typical auto loan lenders typically have higher standards in regards to credit requirements.  With my credit history and my boyfriends credit score of 760 we were able to land the best rate our bank could offer when we co-borrowed (not co-signed ) an amount of $37k on a 2018 fifth wheel at 3.99% for 94 months. At the time co-borrowing was not a concern as we had planned on doing so anyways.