cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seeking auto loan, have one year, what would YOU do?

tag
Hogue69
Valued Member

Seeking auto loan, have one year, what would YOU do?

Hey guys, I'm very new to credit. I've only had one credit card that I officially opened on May 1st, of this year. I'm 20, and I'm currently working my way through an apprenticeship making a pretty decent income (with no real-world responsibilities yet Smiley Tongue) and my income will be (god bless) doubling in the next 2 years. My goal is to purchase a newer car between 14 and 20 thousand dollars by my 21st birthday (seemed like as good of a milestone as any) so I have almost one full year, to put myself in the best position possible to make this happen.

So here's my break down.

1) I've lived at the same address now for 20 years, no rent, only bills are a $90 cell phone bill, and an insurance policy, I pay off the whole premium at once to shave off a few bucks. About 600 dollars every months.

2) I've worked the same job now for 1 year and 1 month, and by my birthday next year it will be 2 years even.

3) I don't have a REAL FICO score yet, because I have only 1 trade line, that is only 3 months old (It takes 6 months for your first trade line to report, and ultimately generating you your first credit score, correct?

4) I am a member of a major bank, in which I hold 3 accounts, 1 for my direct deposit, my emergency fund where I always keep $500 dollars, and a savings account I have $2000 dollars in as of today, as well as a Local credit union I keep my primary savings in, I also have another $1100 dollars in there, and this is the savings I really want to focus and build on for my future.

5) I have one credit card, my Capital One Secured Card, I opened in May (3 months old) with only a $400 dollar balance, and my utilization has RELIGIOUSLY been less than 20% on this card, (I've read that between 5-20% utilization is ideal)