cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I include my parents as a cosigner?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I include my parents as a cosigner?

My current standing: I am a college student who lives at home with my parents and I make 1200 monthly. I have very low monthly expenses, my credit card bill averages $100/month. I am trying to purchase a vehicle costing $25,000 and I have $7000 for a down payment. My credit score averages 740 and I have 3 years so far on my credit card history. I understand that most lenders look for atleast $1500/month and am considering having either my mom or dad on the loan.
My mom has a good credit score around 790, but no income. My dad has a good score as well but he already has an auto loan, and I worry that he is over his DTI ratio. Since I most likely need a cosigner, who should I choose? And how likely am I to be approved?

6 REPLIES 6
settleordelete
Regular Contributor

Re: Should I include my parents as a cosigner?

I recently took my 21 year old nephew to our local Hyundai dealer to purchase his first new car. His income was low ($1300 monthly) but his credit was good (scores in the 700s). He was able to get a well equipped Elantra for $19000 +TTL with no money down and no co-signer.
Good luck!
I've been where you are trying to go and I don't wanna go back.
Message 2 of 7
pinkandgrey
Senior Contributor

You may be able to get it without a cosigner due to the fact that I assume you don’t pay rent? That would make your DTI quite low which looks good. Plus you have a generous down payment.

Try to go it alone but if income proves to be a problem, they’ll let you add a cosigner.

At one point I was able to get a car loan with no cosigner and my reported income was only like 17k lol DTI is everything to lenders 

Discover It: 21.5k
Amex Cash Magnet: 18k
Fidelity Visa: 16.5k
Apple Card: 4.25k
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: