cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student auto loan with deferred payments? Please help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student auto loan with deferred payments? Please help!

Hey everyone, I'm new here.  I'm trying to find a loan for my special situation and need help.  I'm a student at SUNY Binghamton University and am unemployed, but this coming summer and next summer I will be in REU programs that pay roughly a $5,000 stipend each.  The total cost of the car I want to buy is $8,000, so it's a small loan, but I will have no money to pay it off with until the end of summer 2010.  I don't wanna let this car go to someone else, so if I were to buy it I would need a loan.

Is there any kind of specialized student loan that will let me defer payments like this?  If I'm not earning any money until summer, then I have more than half of the total loan, then am not earning anything for another year, then have the other half, is there a way to set up a payment plan like that?  Or am I just dreaming?  Thank you for your help.

Message Edited by IBx1 on 10-14-2009 11:21 AM
Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
LittleCat
Contributor

Re: Student auto loan with deferred payments? Please help!

No, you will not get financed. I don't think there is a lender in the world that will defer an auto payment, let alone to someone with no income.

Maybe wait until you get the cash and buy something cheap and pay in full

Message 2 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote: