cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to trade current car for a suv

Highlighted

Trying to trade current car for a suv

So my husband and I tried a couple days ago to trade my car in on a SUV. We picked out a used one that actually wasn't much more than my car was when I purchased it 3 years ago. I've been repairing my credit since I was divorced 3 years ago. When I initially purchased the car my credit score was 685 and capital one had pre-approved me for the car I had picked out. I went to the dealership thinking I might not be able to actually get it. I managed to get it with 6.6% interest rate thru Ally which I felt was ok considering my credit history (my former husband was terrible with money and maxed our credit cards out and we became delinquent on payments. Some were closed and I managed to pay 3 off, then before our divorce he again maxed them out)

the truck I had in our divorce had a $1000 a month payment through our bank so I had to get rid of it. Looking back I should have refinanced it. But live and learn. 
Now since my remarriage we have 5 kids between us and wanted to get an SUV to accommodate. 
My score was 670 on Experian. And the dealership told us we were preapproved. I asked about payments and they said they had to see my trade in person. So we drove 2 hours and they give us this sheet with estimates on financing at 12% with $1000 payments. I had told the one working with us we would not go over $750 no matter what. So I told her again. She said these are inky estimates until we run it thru financing. So I signed it and they ran it through. They didn't come back with any options Other than would need $5,000 down to "get close" we told them no thank you and walked out. When my alert came up on the bank they tried it was Sandtander. I looked them up before we walked out and read all about how terrible they are and fraudulent.