cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wells Fargo Approval for a Friend (Data Points)

tag
draychi
Valued Member

Wells Fargo Approval for a Friend (Data Points)

So I've been rebuilding since 2020, but just recently started helping a friend who was clueless on credit and has a thin file at 28 years old.

I got her an 80+ point increase in 2-3 months with simple fixes:

- 2 medical collections under $400 removed (instant removal with disputes)

- 2019 auto loan - She was hit by a driver while sitting still. His insurance was hesitant, but finally paid the loan. Short story, I got the 2 late payments removed from the loan with a goodwill email. Loan shows as fully paid and positive (I think it was American Credit Acceptance).

- She defaulted on a $300 personal loan in Jan of this year before I got involved in her credit. It's PIF now, but the CO is most likely costing her 75 points. Loan was up to date in Dec 2020 and they marked it late 60 days in Jan '21. I'm still trying to get this removed.

- I added her to 3 of my cards as AU. 0% UT, 2-3 years old... just for history.

- Opened 3 new cards of her own (CreditOne, FirstPremier and Kohls)

End of Aug into Sept sitting at 625 TU / 727 EQ / 622 EX (640 auto 8).

We've been having trouble getting her financed for a car $15-$20k, as expected.

The key here was that the CO is not reported on EQ, and the 'paid off' auto loan is on there. We tossed in an app with PenFed after getting denied from a local CU due to the recent job switch. She left a 3 year hospital position to make more at Amazon, and has only been on the job 2.5 months (another hit, I know).

The car we submitted to PenFed was a 2015 Mazda6 with 68k miles for $16.7k from a local Mazda dealer. PenFed comes back to say their underwriting is behind almost a week. So Saturday we decide to go checkout the car to make sure it's what she wants on the app before the underwriter gets to it.