cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

10 Years Later - Post discharge of CH-7 - Now what?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

10 Years Later - Post discharge of CH-7 - Now what?

Hello. Newbie here ! I "filed" for CH-7 in June, 1997. It was "discharged" in November 1997. It's been 10 YEARS now. YIPPEEEE !! I hold the following charge cards: AMEX ("authorized user") Bank of America VISA (infrequently used) Capital One MasterCard (hardly used) Capital One business VISA (hardly used) For many years I have concentrated on using the single AMEX card as an "authorized user". I would like to now apply for a good cash-rebate credit card in MY OWN NAME, and discontinue using the "authorized user" card. I haven't requested a credit report in almost a year now. I typically request one from each of the agencies once a year, since they are free (1/year). I noticed that all of them have a comment like "this item will be removed on/about MM/DD/YYYY", and yet all of those dates seem to vary some, but typically close to the "filed" date of the CH-7. How long should I wait before applying for ANY credit, in order to ensure that the CH-7 has been COMPLETELY removed from my credit record. Do they go by the "filed" date, or the "discharge date", and how accurate are they to the day (of 10 years)? Thank you in adavance.
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 10 Years Later - Post discharge of CH-7 - Now what?

The best thing you can do is pull your own credit report and make sure it's actually fallen off before you apply for something prime.  Your scores should jump a bit when it finally falls off and that will give you a little extra boost when they are deciding CL and APR's.

If you pull your actual 3 in 1 report you will be able to see if it's still on there.  A service like TrueCredit.com might be the thing for you as you can pull your report once a day if you like and keep pulling until you see it drop off all 3 then app away!

Van